Metallica To Perform Black Album In Its Entirety, Stream This Saturday’s Performance

View Comments
Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

WBCN
Read More

Nurburgring, the sleepy German town known the world over for its 18 mile high-speed race track, will play host to the annual Rock AM Ring Festival. This Saturday, June 2nd, Metallica will not only headline the festival but will perform The Black Album in its entirety, only backwards. Fans around the world will be able to watch in real time via live stream.

The self-titled Black Album is significant in that it not only sold 28 million copies but it’s considered to be responsible for taking the band mainstream with hits including “Enter Sandman,” “The Unforgiven” and “Nothing Else Matters.” Saturday’s live stream will begin around 9PM local time, 3PM ET, 2PM CT and 12PM PT.


Metallica is the latest band to perform an entire album from their back catalog. Earlier this month The Offspring performed their 1992 album Ignition, Bruce Springsteen alternated between several albums including Born To Run and Darkness on the Edge of Town, Stone Temple Pilots are said to be taking on Core during their upcoming tour, while Peter Gabriel announced he’ll be play So from start to finish.

The band will use the album performance as a warm up for their Orion Music + More Festival headlining performance. The festival, being held June 23-24 at Bader Field in Atlantic City, New Jersey is Metallica’s brainchild. The band is set to one-up themselves by adding an additional album to the already grandiose set. They’ll play The Black Album and 1984’s Ride The Lightning.

Following the show in New Jersey, the band will set their sights on Mexico City, where they’ll play eight nights before heading to the Great White North.

-Jay Tilles, CBS Local

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus